The Beddington Medal

Background & History

The Beddington Medal is the Society’s major commendation to promising young biologists, awarded for the best PhD thesis in Developmental Biology defended in the year previous to the award.

Rosa Beddington was one of the greatest talents and inspirational leaders in the field of developmental biology. Rosa made an enormous contribution to the field in general and to the BSDB in particular, so it seemed entirely appropriate that the Society should establish a lasting memorial to her.BeddObv

Prizes are an effective and important way of recognising outstanding scientific achievement at any stage of an individual’s career. The BSDB Poster Prize – awarded each year at the Spring Meeting – has rightly become highly coveted, as much for the honour that it confers on the winner as for the free trip to the US developmental biology meeting that she or he receives. Nevertheless, in 2003 the committee felt that a new award – recognising outstanding achievement by a PhD student throughout the course of his/her research project – would be a fitting way of remembering Rosa each year. The design of the medal, mice on a stylised DNA helix, is from artwork by Rosa herself.

Beddington Medallists

The 2014 Beddington medal was presented to William Razzell at the Spring Meeting in Warwick. William carried out his PhD work with Paul Martin at the University of Bristol and he is now working at the Sloan Kettering Institute in New York in the laboratory of Jennifer Zallen. Please, read interview with William conducted by The Node.

Past recipients

  • 2013 Helen Weavers
  • 2012 Boyan Benev
  • 2011 Carlos Carmona Fontaine
  • 2010 Naomi Stevens
  • 2009 Katja Jaeger
  • 2008 Paul Tesar
  • 2007 Rebecca Bastock
  • 2006 Marc Amoyel
  • 2005 Huw Williams
  • 2004 Anne-Gaelle Rolland-Lagan

Nominations for the Beddington Medal

The eligibility period covers PhD dissertations which were defended during the year previous to the award. Nominations should be in two parts:

  1. From the candidate, up to 2 pages A4 describing the thesis and supplemented with up to 1 extra page of figures from the thesis to illustrate key results, plus a 1 page CV, including statement of prizes/awards already received. These should all be in the form of a single pdf file of no more than 1 MB. A candidate exceeding these limits risks having to resubmit their application. In addition, candidates should supply formal documentation of the date of submission of the thesis.
  2. From the candidate’s PhD thesis supervisor, a letter of support, sent independently, consisting of no more than 2 pages A4, describing why the student was deserving of this award. This letter should explicitly comment on the status of publications arising/expected from the thesis work, and also on any unusual circumstances, including duration of study.

All nominations received will be considered by, and voted upon, by the Committee and the winner invited to present the Beddington Medal lecture on their thesis work at the following BSDB Spring Meeting.

Candidates should be BSDB members, of any nationality, with one or more of their supervisors UK-based.

Nominations should be sent to the BSDB Secretary (

Leave a Reply